2021 US Design Patent Toteboard

It is my honor to post the tenth annual US Design Patent Toteboard.

The USPTO issued 33144 design patents in 2021.  The goal of this toteboard, brought to you by the Ant-Like Persistence blog, is to list the firms that helped clients to obtain these US design patents.  It ranks the firms according to the number of US design patents obtained in 2021.  Each firm was invited in early 2022 to submit a simple online questionnaire.  The closing date for the questionnaires was February 2, 2022.

Each firm was asked to report only US design patents for which that firm is listed on the front page of the granted patent.  The firms listed below, between them, accounted for about sixteen percent of all of the granted US design patents in 2021.

Ranking firm name web site Design
Patents
1 Banner Witcoff www.bannerwitcoff.com 1002
2 Birch, Stewart, Kolasch & Birch, LLP www.bskb.com 735
3 Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox P.L.L.C. www.sternekessler.com 616
4 Cantor Colburn www.cantorcolburn.com 327
5 McAndrews, Held & Malloy www.mcandrews-ip.com 295
6 Saidman DesignLaw Group www.designlawgroup.com 250
7 Crowell & Moring LLP www.crowell.com 214
8 NSIP Law www.nsiplaw.com 212
9 Muncy, Geissler, Olds & Lowe, P.C. www.mg-ip.com 209
10 Quarles & Brady LLP quarles.com 136
11 Dunlap Bennett & Ludwig www.dbllawyers.com 106
12 Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP www.fitcheven.com 96
13 FisherBroyles, LLP   96
14 Harness IP www.harnessip.com 91
15 Leydig, Voit & Mayer leydig.com 78
16 QuickPatents, LLC www.quickpatents.com 78
17 Venable venable.com 62
18 Marshall, Gerstein & Borun LLP www.marshallip.com 61
19 Cowan, Liebowitz & Latman, P.C. www.cll.com 53
20 Westerman Hattori LLP whda.com 52
21 Capitol City TechLaw www.capcitytechlaw.com 42
22 Oppedahl Patent Law Firm LLC www.oppedahl.com 41
23 Kenja IP Law PC www.kenjaip.com 40
24 Fox Rothschild LLP www.foxrothschild.com 33
25 Middleton Reutlinger www.middletonlaw.com 32
26 Allen, Dyer, Doppelt + Gilchrist, P.A. allendyer.com 31
27 KPPB LLP www.kppb.com 30
28 Loza & Loza, LLP www.lozaip.com 30
29 Klintworth and Rozenblat IP LLP www.kandrip.com 26
30 Lempia Summerfield Katz LLC www.lsk-iplaw.com 26
31 Browdy and Neimark, PLLC www,browdyneimark.com 22
32 Woodard, Emhardt, Henry Reeves & Wagner, LLP www.uspatent.com 22
33 Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati www.wsgr.com 16
34 Withrow & Terranova, PLLC www.wt-ip.com 16
35 MacMillan, Sobanski & Todd, LLC mstfirm.com 15
36 Nancy J. Flint, Attorney At Law, P.A. www.flintiplaw.com 14
37 Jacobson Holman PLLC jhip.com 11
38 Aslan Law www.aslan.law 11
39 GrowIP Law Group LLC www.growip.com 11
40 Offit Kurman, P.A. www.offitkurman.com 11
41 DeWitt LLP dewittllp.com 10
42 iPA & iPM www.ipatentapplication.com 10
43 McKee, Voorhees & Sease, PLC www.ipmvs.com 10
44 Department of the Navy, Office of General Counsel www.secnav.navy.mil/OGC 10
45 Fishman Stewart PLLC fishstewip.com 9
46 Thompson Patent Law thompsonpatentlaw.com 6
47 Godfrey & Kahn, S.C. www.gklaw.com 6
48 Law Offices of Guy V. Manning www.gvmlaw.net 6
49 Smirman IP Law, PLLC www.smirman.com 6
50 Rogowski Law LLC rogowskilaw.com 5
51 Bycer & Marion, PLC bycermarion.com 4
52 PatentFile, LLC patentfile.org 4
53 Blue Filament Law www.bluefilamentlaw.com 4
54 Assouline & Berlowe P.A. www.assoulineberlowe.com 3
55 Michael J Brown Law Office LLC mjbrownlaw.com 2
56 Patent Law of Virginia PLLC www.patentlawva.com 2
57 Shlesinger, Arkwright & Garvey LLP www.sagllp.com 2

You can also see the 2021 US Trademark Registration Toteboard and the 2021 US Utility Patent Toteboard and the 2021 US Plant Patent Toteboard.  You can also see the past toteboards.

If you wish to be included in next year’s toteboard, please subscribe to the Industrial Designs listserv or subscribe to this blog.  You will then learn of the availability of the questionnaire in early 2023.

x