2021 US Utility Patent Toteboard

It is my honor to post the seventh annual US Utility Patent Toteboard.

The USPTO issued about 327328 US utility patents in 2021.  The goal of this toteboard, brought to you by the Ant-Like Persistence blog, is to list the firms that helped clients to obtain these patents.  It ranks the firms according to the number of US utility patents obtained in 2021.  Each firm was invited in early 2022 to submit a simple online questionnaire.  The closing date for the questionnaires was February 2, 2022.  Each firm was asked to report only US utility patents for which that firm is listed on the front page of the granted patent.  

The firms listed below, between them, accounted for about twelve percent of all of the granted US utility patents in 2021.

Ranking Utility Patents Firm name City State web site
1 4579 Oblon, McClelland, Maier & Neustadt LLP Washington DC www.oblon.com
2 4380 Sughrue Mion PLLC Washington DC www.sughrue.com
3 3686 Cantor Colburn Hartford CT www.cantorcolburn.com
4 3261 Birch, Stewart, Kolasch & Birch, LLP Falls Church VA www.bskb.com
5 2960 Harness IP Troy MI www.harnessip.com
6 1835 Crowell & Moring, LLP Washington DC www.crowell.com
7 1812 Muncy, Geissler, Olds & Lowe, P.C. Fairfax VA www.mg-ip.com
8 1553 Venable Washington DC venable.com
9 1455 Leydig, Voit & Mayer Chicago IL leydig.com
10 1343 Banner Witcoff Washington DC www.bannerwitcoff.com
11 1137 Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox P.L.L.C. Washintgon DC www.sternekessler.com
12 1050 Marshall, Gerstein & Borun LLP Chicago IL www.marshallip.com
13 850 Westerman Hattori LLP Tysons VA whda.com
14 783 FisherBroyles, LLP Atlanta GA www.fisherbroyles.com
15 680 Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Palo Alto CA www.wsgr.com
16 656 Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP Atlanta and others GA www.eversheds-sutherland.com
17 610 Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP Chicago IL www.fitcheven.com
18 548 McAndrews, Held & Malloy Chicago IL www.mcandrews-ip.com
19 522 Withrow & Terranova, PLLC Cary NC www.wt-ip.com
20 416 Lempia Summerfield Katz LLC Chicago IL www.lsk-iplaw.com
21 414 Rossi, Kimms & McDowell LLP Ashburn VA rkmllp.com
22 380 Fox Rothschild LLP Philadelphia PA www.foxrothschild.com
23 372 Hoffman Warnick LLC Albany NY www.hoffmanwarnick.com
24 345 Middleton Reutlinger Louisville KY www.middletonlaw.com
25 317 Loza & Loza, LLP Upland CA www.lozaip.com
26 287 Department of the Navy, Office of General Counsel Arlington VA www.secnav.navy.mil/ogc
27 277 McKee, Voorhees & Sease, PLC Des Moines IA www.ipmvs.com
28 274 Cowan, Liebowitz & Latman, P.C. New York NY www.cll.com
29 232 Allen, Dyer, Doppelt + Gilchrist, P.A. Orlando FL allendyer.com
30 231 Browdy and Neimark, PLLV Washington DC www.browdyneimark.com
31 225 Fishman Stewart PLLC Troy MI fishstewip.com
32 176 Kenja IP Law PC San Jose CA www.kenjaip.com
33 174 DeWitt LLP Brookfield WI dewittllp.com
34 153 KPPB LLP Anaheim CA www.kppb.com
35 141 MacMillan, Sobanski & Todd, LLC Toledo OH mstfirm.com
36 119 Fogarty LLP Plano TX fogartyip.com
37 119 Klintworth and Rozenblat IP LLP Chicago IL www.kandrip.com
38 112 Woodard, Emhardt, Henry, Reeves & Wagner, LLP Indianapolis IN www.uspatent.com
39 103 Dunlap Bennett and Ludwig Leesburg VA www.dbllawyers.com
40 89 Jacobson Holman PLLC Washington DC jhip.com
41 87 Blue Filament Law Birmingham MI www.bluefilamentlaw.com
42 84 Umberg Zipser LLP Irvine CA www.umbergzipser.com
43 36 Capitol City TechLaw Alexandria VA www.capcitytechlaw.com
44 33 Offit Kurman, Attorneys at Law Multi Multi www.offitkurman.com
45 32 Thompson Patent Law Austin TX thompsonpatentlaw.com
46 26 Canady + Lortz LLP Washington DC and LA Offices CA and DC www.canadylortz.com
47 25 Aslan Law Washington DC www.aslan.law
48 25 GrowIP Law Group LLC Barrington IL www.growip.com
49 24 PatentFile, LLC Charlotte NC patentfile.org
50 23 Godfrey & Kahn, S.C. Milwaukee WI www.gklaw.com
51 19 Oppedahl Patent Law Firm LLC Westminster CO www.oppedahl.com
52 18 Rogowski Law LLC Wilmington DE rogowskilaw.com
53 15 Shlesinger, Arkwright & Garvey LLP Alexandria VA sagllp.com
54 12 Smirman IP Law, PLLC Rochester MI www.smirman.com
55 11 Bycer & Marion, PLC Phoenix AZ bycermarion.com
56 10 Matrix Patent Agency Nashua NH` www.mxpatent.com
57 8 Patent Law of Virginia PLLC Richmond VA www.patentlawva.com
58 5 Nancy J. Flint, Attorney At Law, P.A. Plantation FL www.flintiplaw.com
59 4 Law Offices of Guy V. Manning Fort Worth TX www.gvmlaw.net
60 3 Assouline & Berlowe P.A. Miami FL www.assoulineberlowe.com
61 2 Edward K Welch II dba IP&L Solutions Naples FL  
62 2 Michael J Brown Law Office LLC Livingston NJ www.mjbrownlaw.com

You can also see the 2021 US Trademark Registration Toteboard and the 2021 US Design Patent Toteboard and the 2021 US Plant Patent Toteboard.  You can also see the past toteboards.

If you wish to be included in next year’s toteboard, please subscribe to the EFS-Web listserv or subscribe to this blog.  You will then learn of the availability of the questionnaire in early 2023.